The Modern Period: 1901-1939

English Literature

The Modern Period:

Sully PrudhommePoet1901French
Robindranath TagoreBengali Poet1913Indian
Rudyard KiplingShort-story writer1907Indian by Birth and British by living
W. B. YeatsPoet1923Irish
George Bernard ShawDramatist1925Irish
John GalsworthyNovelist1932British
Pearl S. BuckA woman novelist1938American
T. S. EliotPoet1948American by birth and British by living
William FaulknerNovelist1949American
Bertrand RussellModern Philosopher1950British
Sir Winston ChurchillPolitician1953British
Ernest HemingwayNovelist1954American
Samuel BeckettDramatist1969British
Pablo NerudaPoet and Diplomat1971Chilean (Spanist)
William GoldingDramatist1983British
Wole SoyinkaPlaywright1986Nigerian
Seamus HeaneyPoet Laureate1995British
Harold PinterDramatist2005British
Doris LessingNovelist2007British
Alice MunroShort-story writer2013Canadian
Patrick ModianoNovelist2014Frence
Toni MorrisonNovelist1993American
Eugene O’NeillPlaywright1936American

History of English Literature (Age/Period)

The old English Period or The Anglo-Saxon Period: 450-1066.

The Middle English Period: 1066-1500

Follow Us on:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *